lishments in Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario, Alberta and British Columbia and liaison offices in Washington, London and Paris.

Department of Agriculture. This Department was established in 1867 (SC 1868, c.53) and now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.A-10. It undertakes work on all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Research, Health of Animals and Economics branches, and the Grain Research Laboratory; and the maintenance of standards and protection of products, by the Production and Marketing and Health of Animals branches. A new Food Systems Branch was created in 1972. The Canada Grain Act, as it pertains to the inspection, weighing, storage and transportation of grain, is administered by the Canadian Grain Commission, which is a part of the Department. Programs concerning farm income security and price stability are provided under the Crop Insurance Act, the Prairie Farm Assistance Act, the Canadian Dairy Commission Act, the Agricultural Stabilization Act and the Agricultural Products Board Act. The Agricultural Stabilization Board, the Agricultural Products Board, the Farm Credit Corporation, the Canadian Dairy Commission, the Canadian Livestock Feed Board and the National Farm Products Marketing Council report to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Department of Communications. The Department was established under Part II of the 1969 Government Organization Act and operates under authority of the Department of Communications Act (RSC 1970, c.C-24). The Minister of Communications is responsible for fostering the orderly operation and development of communications for Canada. This includes recommending national policies and programs regarding communications services for Canada, promoting the efficiency and growth of Canadian communications systems and assisting them to adjust to changing conditions and encouraging the development and introduction of new communication facilities and resources. Its responsibilities also include managing the radio frequency spectrum to permit the orderly use of radio communications, protecting Canadian interests in international telecommunications matters, and co-ordinating telecommunications services for departments and agencies of the Government of Canada.

The Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation, the Canadian Radio-Television Commission and Telesat Canada report to Parliament through the Minister of Communications. The Canadian Transport Commission also reports through the Minister of Communications on matters pertaining to telecommunications.

Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs. This Department was established in 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-27) replacing the Department of the Registrar General of Canada. The duties, powers and functions of the Minister extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: consumer affairs; corporations and corporate securities; combines, mergers, monopolies and restraint of trade; bankruptcies and insolvencies; and patents, copyrights, trade marks and industrial design.

The functions of the Department are divided into five main areas. The Bureau of Consumer Affairs co-ordinates government activities in the field of consumer affairs; the Bureau of Corporate Affairs administers the government's corporate activities; the Bureau of Intellectual Property administers laws and regulations pertaining to patents, trade marks, industrial designs and copyrights; and the Field Operations Service supervises the Department's operations across Canada, staffing regional and district offices in five Canadian cities from coast to coast and district offices in 25 others. Competition policy is regulated by the Bureau of Competition Policy.

In addition, as Registrar General of Canada, the Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada, the Privy Seal of the Governor General, the Seal of the Administrator of Canada and the Seal of the Registrar General of Canada.

The Restrictive Trade Practices Commission (Combines Investigation Act) is domiciled in the Department and reports directly to the Minister.

Department of Energy, Mines and Resources. The Department of Energy, Mines and Resources was created in 1966 by the Government Organization Act (RSC 1970, c.E-6). The Department, in addition to its administrative services, is organized into three sectors. The Energy Development Sector has responsibilities relating to the development of plans and policies for all forms of energy, the development of programs, legislation and agreements to implement those policies, the direction of studies relating to energy sources and requirements, and the co-ordination of policy advice. A major responsibility of the Sector is research on and the formulation of a national energy policy. The Mineral Development Sector gathers economic data on non-renewable resources for use by government, industry and the public. It also develops policy proposals for the government and the Canadian mineral industry to help determine policies and decisions that will ensure an adequate, dependable and timely flow of minerals to meet the country's needs at reasonable cost. The Science and Technology Sector includes the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Earth Physics Branch, the Canada Centre for Remote Sensing and the Polar Continental Shelf Project, all of which are engaged in research and the provision of information, and the Explosives Division, which controls, under the provisions of the Explosives Act, the production and handling of explosives.

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited, Eldorado Nuclear Limited, Eldorado Aviation Limited, the